0

Facebook Scraps Search Privacy Feature

facebook-search-privacy-main1

Facebook, which is one of the most popular social networking websites of the globe, has scrapped the search privacy feature that permitted users to determine who could find their profiles on the website.

Facebook revealed in December, 2012 that it would get rid of the feature called ‘Who can look up your Timeline by name?’ in phases, starting with users who have not opted for this option. On October 10, 2013, the feature has fully ended.

Michael Richter, Facebook’s Chief Privacy Officer, expressed in a blog post that a very small amount of Facebookers had actually activated that option, which he feels was quite limited and outdated. Richter further added that the feature of restricting people to find fellow users was having an adverse effect on the overall search efficiency of the website and was also quite confusing for a vast majority of Facebook users, which is the reason why it has been removed.

If users are looking to have a greater level of privacy, they need to select the privacy settings of each individual post. They can either delete posts they do not wish to share with others or may just quit using Facebook altogether.

This step by Mark Zuckerberg’s company has been immensely criticized by watchdog groups, who feel that every individual has the right to maintain privacy.

 

Filed in: Social Media Tags: ,

Get Updates

Share This Post

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment